Works and Studies
     
       
       
       





 

 














 
Sample of Works and Studies
 

Since 2001, Catco's interventions have covered various fields of the insurance and reinsurance industry as well as related topics like geocoding addresses and mapping risks. Catco worked for major insurers, reinsurers, brokers as well as other specific companies willing to investigate their catastrophe exposures. Clients include big names of the industry like Axa, Groupama, CCR, Willis Re, XLre, ...You will find below a sample of the most recent works and studies carried out :

    Scoring of vendor's catastrophe models: for a major French insurer, definition and development of a tool -based on the scoring of about 100 points- to evaluate several models used by the client to estimate its exposure and loss potential to catastrophes, especially storms.
    Methodology of calculation of flood exposures: for a major French reinsurer, development and validation of a new and detailed methodology to calculate exposure to flood, especially contents, for non residential risks, depending on the activity of the risk. Research and selection of the most appropriate damage functions for each activity
    Identification of flood prone risks in France: for the marketting division of a flood defence systems vendor, identification of French businesses exposed to flooding by geocoding addresses and mapping them againsts Catco's proprietary flood zoning for France, by rivers and submersion areas (about 200 rivers)
    Liability reinsurance pricing tool: for the cessions's actuarial service of a French insurer, development of a tool for calculating asif losses and pricing liability reinsurance, in order to make their own opinion on the need of capacity and their reinsurance budget
    Reinsurance DFA tool: for a major reinsurance broker, development of a DFA tool simulating the financial impact on insurers's balance sheet of complex reinsurance structures, gathering any number of lines of businesses and reinsurance programs
    Renewal seasons for reinsurers: several renewal seasons for non life reinsurers, for analyzing and pricing treaties, among which CCR, XLre, Flagstone Re, Transtlantic Re.
    Solvency II: writing documents for ACPR about catstrophe exposure monitoring: for a major French insurer, writing of several important documents for approval by ACPR of the methodologies put in place for monitoring catastrophe exposures and evaluating their financial impact to meet Solvency II requirements (ACPR is the French commission controling banks and insurers financial robustness)

Etc...

Réalisations
     
       
       
       





 

 














 
Echantillon de réalisations
 

Depuis 2001, les interventions de Catco ont porté sur des domaines très variés de l'assurance, de la réassurance ainsi que divers sujets connexes comme le géocodage d'adresses ou des travaux de cartographie de risques. Catco est intervenu pour des assureurs, des réassureurs, des courtiers de réassurance ainsi que acteurs spécifiques demandeurs d'études sur leurs expositions aux catastrophes. Catco est intervenu entre autres pour Axa, Groupama, CCR, Willis Re, Xlre, etc...Parmi les travaux les plus récents, on peut citer:

    Scoring des modèles catastrophe : définition, conception et mise en oeuvre d'une évaluation par scoring d'une centaine de points des modèles commerciaux utilisés par un grand assureur pour l'estimation de son exposition et de sa sinistralité potentielle à l'aléa tempête
    Méthode de calculs des expositions inondation et de leur vulnérabilité: pour un grand réassureur français, création, validation et mise en forme de nouvelles méthodologies concernant le calcul des expositions aux inondations des risques non résidentiels en France, par activité. Recherche bibliographique et sélection de fonctions de dégâts appropriées suivant l'activité
    Identification des biens exposés aux inondations sur la France entière: pour la campagne marketting d'un vendeur de systèmes de défense anti inondation, identification des entreprises françaises situées dans des zones inondables sur tout le territoire français, par géocodage à l'adresse et croisement avec la base de données de Catco des zones inondables françaises (200 rivières et cours d'eau)
    Outil de tarification de la réassurance RC : pour le service actuariat cessions d'un grand assureur, développement d'un outil informatique de mise en asif de la sinistralité historique et de tarification de la protection réassurance des branches RC
    Outil DFA de simulation de l'impact financier des programmes de cession: pour un grand courtier du marché de la réassurance, développement d'un outil de DFA destiné à simuler l'impact financier du programme de cessions dans son ensemble des groupes d'assurance, sur un nombre quelconque de branches et pouvant intégrer des structures complexes de réassurance.
    Campagnes de renouvellement en réassurance non vie : analyse et tarification de dossiers - pour CCR, XLre, Flagstone Re, Transatlantic Re,..:
    Préparation de dossiers pour l'ACPR : pour un grand assureur français, préparation de plusieurs documents importants destinés à l'ACPR dans le cadre de Solvency II pour homologuer les méthodes mises en place par le client pour suivre son exposition aux catastrophes et quantifier leur l'impact financier

Etc...